The Birth of Strangers

I used to play 4th edition.

(Pause for partial disgust.)

Yes, I started with it and I enjoyed the ease of character creation on the Character Builder.

I even had my group tally up 2 dollars from each person to help pay for the builder every month.
( I was the only one who had a job, a debit card, and a car…)

While in fourth edition I did discover something I loved without a doubt. \

The race called Changelings. They are Half-Doppelganger Half-Human race of Shape-shifting Aberration Humanoids.

They were my very favorite race.

I even created the character that this blog is mostly about, Yorick Sofer, as a Changeling.

When I left that group and shut down my WotC account, I went searching for more games.

I found they weren’t in other editions unless you played Eberron.

I tried to create Yorick as something else. I tried Elf, Half-Elf, Human, Undead, Vampire, Lycanthrope, and even tried halfling…

Nothing felt right.

So… When I moved to Pathfinder and they came out with the Advanced Race Guide, I was really excited to see Changeling in the Uncommon races!

I skipped to the page only to find a race of Half-Human… Half-Hags… Just… What the hell.

I flipped through the rest of the book in sadness only to find the “Race Builder.”

“My Gods…” I thought. “I can… Make… Changelings…”

So I made the Race and have renamed them Strangers.

Just one thing I would expect people to call them.

Here they are:

Race: Faces/Strangers/Changelings

Type: Aberration (3 RP)
Darkvision – 60 Ft.

Size: Medium (0 RP)

Speed:Normal (30 Ft.) – (0 RP)

Ability Scores: Weakness – (-1 RP)
+2 Dex +2 Cha -4 Con

Language:Linguist – (1 RP)
Common, +1 Racial Language, Int adds any other. (except secrets)

Extra Traits:
Integrated –
(1 RP)
+1 bonus to Bluff, Disguise, Knowledge (Local).
Change Shape, Greater – (6 RP)
Alter Self ability at will as a small or medium creature.

Total Cost: 10 RP

Done.

And very well if I do say so myself.

They fall right underneath the line for Standard Race.

Leave a Reply

