Significant Others and Gaming: Paradox Maybe?

I’ve been tabletop gaming for a few years now. When I first started gaming it was with a few people of whom I went to high school with. I never intended to introduce my girlfriend to this nerd cult ritual.

After dating for so long and having that constant “So you’re going to the game again…” spoken to me, she asked me a question I will never regret answering. “Can I go with you?”

Of course I said yes. She came and first session she sat through watching us be dorks, make jokes, and realize why I enjoyed it so much. She made a character after that. A female Sorceress named Alese. I at the time was playing my Mary-Sue, Yorick. She played and learned a bit of the system. I’ll admit at the time while she couldn’t do much in combat or when it came to playing any skill part of the game. She was great when it came to actual roleplaying. Talking to people in the game was where she excelled, and she had a blast playing with us.

Later on, when we eventually left that group due to problems, she started playing more and making more characters. We also eventually moved on from 4th edition to Pathfinder. Causing her to learn a new system, bless her heart. She has transferred well, and I am so proud of her every time we game.

Just wanted to share a bit about my Significant Other and my love for her and how happy I am that I introduced her to my geek passion.

Now, I also wanted to share some moments and characters she has made possible.

Tabula (Tala) Buscus
Female Human Cavalier
To be honest, this character was a joke based on another joke character. She ended up playing her and the character kicked more ass than her grandfather of equal renown. She traveled with a blue gnome lightning sorcerer and rode her valiant female steed named Mare-Buscus. She had a serious knack and passion for jousting and would avoid or kill anything between her and jousting. She disguised herself as a male, wearing Toby of Buscus’ armor (her grandfather), since females were forbidden from becoming knights or jousting.
Despite the silliness of the campaign and all that followed this character, I have to say this was one of her stronger characters.

Olesia Trinity
Female Half-Orc Inquisitor
This character started out as a test character for a new campaign. Also one of our first runs with mostly advanced players guide classes. She was a innocent of sorts, matter-o’-factly clerical girl. She favored a longbow and found that eating the sins of those she killed helped them achieve a better spot in the afterlife. She went through a lot, traveled with a lot of crazy people, and eventually split up the entire party after a dumb character died. She is a current character being played and we are still seeing what will happen to her. Olesia and Tala both show a sense of how well my girlfriend puts characters together backstory wise according to their class and race. Though, I will admit that Tala was better combat oriented than Olesia. While Olesia got much richer than Tala ever could be.

Now, there are several types of couples that play tabletop games. I’ve come up with a few names for the different ones, and how they are different and alike.

The Game Master’s Girlfriend

Now this one comes in two colors: Interested and Uninterested.
Interested
These will generally know the basics of how to play and know how to build their own characters. They also tend to have characters with similar if not the same parameters to other players characters. (Such as: Similar stat blocks, items, money, etc.) This character is useful, and is a benefit to have in the party.
Uninterested
These are easy to spot. Normally they will bring their computer or phone and will be on it most of the game. They also play support classes such as Bard, Clerics, Sorcerer, etc. These characters also have major stat blocks, better gear, and are very unique races. They also have unique features such as weird eye or hair color, extreme beauty, or magical in appearance. They also can seem to be the center of the adventure. Being a princess, queen, or some sort of nobility that makes her better than other characters.
When playing the game she will normally be doing something else until she is mentioned or something catches her attention in game. She can have either no idea how to play the game, or a general understanding. She will also not participate in things like combat unless forced, and when doing so will take one action and say she hides the rest of the time. This character just takes up space, and is most likely useless.

Player 2
These are one of my least favorite of all time. Player 2’s are the ones that date a player, don’t build their own characters, and are very similar to Uninterested GM Girlfriends. They share lots of similarities. The only difference normally is they are built to character standards, and they are played by their significant other. I’m serious. You’ve seen this I’m sure. She sits there and either tries to play or doesn’t. If she does he will not make a case to teach her, he will just play the character for her. Either telling the GM her action for her, or even going so far to roll for her. She has little to no control of this character and is just there because her significant other. This player normally just takes up space.

Till Character Re-Creation Do us Part
You know those couples that even in the game they area couple? Yeah, that is this. When the girlfriend has to be in a relationship with her other’s character. These generally just get to be an annoyance in game. They can be an actual part of the team, but will generally get annoying depending on the Boyfriend and what the GM throws at you.

Introduced Him
These are normally those geek girls. They know the rules and know how to play. They don’t take smack from anyone, even their other. These are useful, and even through their significant can be a pain to lug around they are nice to know.

Commitment means nothing in D&D
These differ dependently. On one hand you will have the couple that hates each others guts and both play the game. Most times they met by gaming, and realize that they now share all of the same games and friends. So, the one who ends the relationship, ends their gaming experience. The other hand you have a couple that just finds it relaxing to be someone who isn’t in a relationship in game. After games these will go home happy. These are also rare as a Zebracorn surrounded by a cotton candy rainbow with chocolate milk rainclouds. Yup. Don’t expect to run into them. If you do, take a picture. Then knock out the couple with something hard. Have the rest of the group help you put them in a cage and start planning how much you will sell them for on the Ebony Bazaar. You’ll get more for selling them as a pair, trust me. Don’t accept American Express cards.

There are more that I can either, not think of or comprehend, and so I ask for your own addition to the types you may have seen. With D&D and other tabletop games rising in popularity due to nerd and geek culture becoming a social norm, (Honestly, everyone is a nerd or geek now! I don’t like it.) there a tons of different players out there. (Not really, the normal archetypes apply. But that is another time, another post.)

So, if you know a type of couple player, feel free to share!

Thanks for reading!

Cheers,

The Guy

5 thoughts on “Significant Others and Gaming: Paradox Maybe?

  1. My wife never got to play with me. My hope is that we can run a session for my don and his friends when they get old enough. Enjoyed the read, thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Love this! A few weeks after I met my boyfriend he introduced me to his campaign and it’s brilliant! The only downside is that until I got precise shot I kept accidentally rolling really low numbers on attacks and may have shot him a few times πŸ˜›

    In case you’re interested, I recently (well, today!) made a blog and shop selling cartoony D and D designs and thought you might like to take a look πŸ™‚ Hope you like it!

    http://thescurvydwarf.wordpress.com/

    Like

  3. I actually met the girl I’m currently dating through a friend when the two of them jumped into our game. I can’t help attracting the nerdy girls, it’s all that Charisma. πŸ˜›

    Like

Leave a Reply

