Reading New Things: Legends of Eli Monpress

ImageSo, I recently read The Legend of Eli Monpress by Rachel Aaron.

And… Well…I loved every second of it.

I’ve  read Dragonlance, Forgotten Realms, Myth Adventures, and several other great fantasy series. Never have I picked up a book of non-traditional fantasy that I’ve loved more than a traditional fantasy book.

When I first picked it up I was hesitant due to it being three books mashed into one. They weren’t selling the first book separate of the other two. That seemed strange to me. Then I realized why. The books might as well just be one large book, because while I don’t doubt they could all three stand on their own, they make more sense when altogether. I found myself gripping the book in both laughter and suspense at several parts. I could not put this book down!

It is pretty intense. I did find myself laughing several times throughout this book. I’ve actually laughed more at this book than I have for any other book, show, or movie I’ve ever watched.

Now onto other things about it. The bad.

Really I don’t have anything bad to say. Other than like 1-2 minor grammatical changes, which can be ignored easily, and the way things get set up most times I guess plot points before they happen. Though I will say that this book will take you on a roller coaster of climaxes. Seems every time I felt the book was winding to a resolution something else happened that made me re-read that page just so I could say “Wow, that just happened.”

It will keep you reading, you’ll enjoy it, and you’ll laugh the entire way through. Loveable original characters, and may I add, a very original world.
I’m not kidding the rules and everything she put into this world, it is so crazy and well thought out that I was just baffled reading it.
I’m reading the next book in the series The Spirit War, technically the fourth book. She continues to add things to the world that just make it better and more interesting. 

I highly recommend this book! If you want to get back into reading fantasy, or just want a new book to pick up. Definitely grab this 1012 page beauty. I insure you that you will get the next one with no complaints.

Well, that’s what I’ve been doing.

Thanks for checking in!
-Sofer

Leave a Reply

