Side campaign: Bad Moon Waning

I recently started a campaign with my usual group. I deemed it Heroes of Parsley (I’ll give a post about it later with what is going on there.) Well in that campaign my younger brother joined my game officially for the first time.With him joining he has to change a bit of his schedule around. This left us with a game day without him. We only play once a week so with that we were left with three choices.
 
1. Skip this week and wait until he joins us next time.
2. Continue this week without him.
or
3. Start a side campaign.
 
I decided to do number three. Since our other campaign started as level 1 characters, and my players complain about never getting to play higher level than 7, I decided we would start level 10 characters for this campaign. I also decided to use the new Pathfinder book Ultimate Campaign. Which is pretty awesome.
With that, the crew of characters I got were… strangely interesting.
 
My Fiance is playing a Female Human Cavalier; Order of the Blue Rose. Her name is Elizabeth Caramon.
This character sprouts from a previous female cavalier whose story ended with her getting laws passed to allow females to joust and become knights, and later creating a guild of female knights. The Sisters of the Sword.
My Friend, whom I refer to as The Alchemist on here, is playing a Halfling Bard. Out of Spite. His name is Nossel.
I say out of spite due to my hatred of bards. I think the class itself is underrated and has potential if played by the correct person. Though any bard I’ve ever seen played reminds me of a train wreck. Into a nursing home. And the train is carrying thousands of chickens. That’s what bards remind me of. They never turn out well. So he decided to give one of them a try. He sings and dances and has a very sad backstory. That’s another story though.
One of our new players whom is used to video games and still learning the concept of D&D is playing a … Gnome Rogue. Named Rogeuy  Roy.
I told him to play something new since he always wants to play spellcasters, without the knowledge of how to play them. He recently played a fighter and with that I wanted him to move to something similar without moving to spellcasting. I don’t know why he chose a gnome, with his only knowledge of gnome coming from World of Warcraft. We’ll see how that turns out.
Finally, a returning player, another female, wanted to play a Sorcerer…. errr. ess. Her name is… ummm… something with an A. Aria? Maybe.
She left the group for a little while due to issues with another player, whom is now gone. So finding time out of her work schedule she decided to join us again.
 
With these four I, stretched for time to come up with anything, decided to go down a bad road and use a module.
We play Pathfinder and even though it is great it has something lacking in number of level 10 modules that don’t have a pre-module adventure path to follow. So I went to 3.5 and found a level 10 module called Bad Moon Waning.
I had planned to make my players go through a few dungeons to get them used to the idea of dungeons. They never really go through any so why not let them know they exist?
 
It isn’t a bad module, it has a very interesting concept and great for experienced players. I say that again. Experienced players. Players whom know what to do in most situations. My players thus far have skipped past a few key points.
It is supposed to be a quick module, and the characters aren’t supposed to stay for very long, but so far it’s turning out to be lasting longer than I expected. Either way, it’s been interesting and once they get done with it I’ll move on to running them through a dungeon or two. I feel like I might just pull out the Tomb of Horrors. I mean. Why not? Right?
 
Anyway, more as it develops.
 
 
 
8 thoughts on “Side campaign: Bad Moon Waning

      1. It’s a slow endeavor. I’ve got characters, I just need to find a place to start, narrative style, and then when I’ve got it written a bit, an artist. All that also requires time, and I work so much I multi-task thinking about it at work and then getting home to write it all down.

        Like

Leave a Reply

