Once again around the Sun.

Tomorrow the day arrives where the people I know celebrate the day I was brought into this world via my mother’s naughty bits. Won’t that be exciting? Today will be my last day as a 21 year old. That’s kind of depressing.

Why is it depressing? It’s not because I’m getting older, no no no, I actually welcome age. I long for the experience it brings and the enjoyment of seeing what the future holds. That truly excites me. I mean think about it! We are technically time travelers. Traveling through space and time at the speed of 1 second per second!

Okay, so that’s not really that impressive, in fact it’s a really lame power that we all have. Sort of. Either way, there is a good reason for why I’m not excited about becoming a 22 year old. Because it’s not 21.

I don’t mean that it’s not the age one become an adult that can do all of the adult things, but the number itself. I actually don’t really care about all of those adult things I’ve been allowed to legally do for a whole year now. In fact, I think I’ve only helped myself to such things under the pressure from friends and family to conform to the idea that it’s what I was supposed to be doing as a 21 year old. Yup, peer pressure.

I will say, looking back, I did have some great times this year. Why not look back on such things? (You know, since I hardly post here anyway, so you really don’t get a sense of what’s going on in my life to keep me from it.)

Since I became 21, on September 9th of last year, I have…

…Started writing the story I’ve been dreaming to write since I was little. (The Brothers Three)

…Moved into an apartment on my own.

…Started defining the map of the world I’ve created. So far I have detailed and named the Country of Lyragon with provinces and capitol cities.

…Began working on my very own tabletop game, and have reached a point where I could say I’m circa 21% of the way to a working model. (I’ve only been at it for a couple of weeks. Expect updates as I post what I have made.)

…Failed at 3 1/2 relationships resulting in a permanent life lesson for future relationships and helping me to acquire the necessary knowledge I’ll require for that one fundamental relationship in the future. (It’s a half, because I got back with my ex-fiance at one point so it was kind of a reboot of an old relationship. No regrets though. *Thumbs up*)

…Got a credit card! And didn’t put myself into a recursive debt pattern!

…Started dabbling into the stock market! (Look at all of this adult-ing!)

…Got out of my five year job as an Assistant Manager of a GameStop Game store. (I was terminated, but still counts right?)

… Immediately found a better job that actually could lead somewhere. (I’m now an IT guy for my city of occupation! Though I do find it weird that the IT department is a subdivision of the water department. Huh.)

…Made 5th place in a Trivia competition! (With the help of a friend from work, but I’ll take it! It was out of 12 teams so also yes!)

…Bought shoes that are not Converse. (It took a lot in me, but now they have that new Chuck 2 and I may go back. All for naught.)

…Made new friends.

…Stopped hearing from old, not that great friends.

…Am still really, really, really ridiculously good looking. (Seriously though.)

…Didn’t become an Alcoholic. (Yeah, still hate alcohol. Though, I do love a good Pina Colada.)

…Learned how to kind of read Braille. (Though it’s pointless, because I can only read it by looking at it. Redundancy!)

…Developed a coded language using Braille. (Made it a little less useless to know.)

I really can’t think of anything else this last year that has happened that was a “Big Deal” for me. I mean some of this stuff happened within the last 2 months. Otherwise the year was pretty uneventful. I did have more than a handful of people I know pass away. I’m not talking about old relatives, or parent’s friends, but people I knew and experienced life with on a day to day basis. Life moves on though.

I guess this year was pretty significant. Here I was starting this post to talk about how useless my big year of 21 was, and how disappointing that was. I now realize how much I gained from it that was important.

OH! I forgot that I was going to tell you why 21 was significant!

So, since I was little 21 was a number I began noticing as a recurring number in every day life.
If we went to a hotel our room number was 210, or our address had 21 in it, and my social security number, drivers licence number, old phone number, parents phone number, little brother’s birthday, you get the idea. It was always somewhere! Well at some point in my teenage years I decided to bring this up with my mother. Turns out she had always noticed it as well and would take it as a good sign from the universe that everything was on the right track. I always liked that. So when I turned 21 I told myself that this was going to be my year from the universe. My year that the things it needs to throw at me will come. I wouldn’t say they did, but I was dumb to expect that. Either way, 21 has always played a significant role in my life. It still does today.

If I’m doing something and I see the number 21 on something like a clock, poster, person’s license plate, or a sticky note or something. To give an example, on the day I had the interview for my new job, as I was leaving and driving home I saw a car with one of those back glass stickers that has their kids softball number and name on it. 21. I also had the car in front of me with a license plate containing, 21. Sure enough I had the job the next day. Even when things are bad, and I see 21, I can call it my confirmation that things are still going as they should and will always be okay.
I’m sure everyone has their own version of 21. I think some people call it religion or faith. Eh.

Either way, what I’m saying is this.

It’s my birthday tomorrow.

I’m turning 22.

It’s okay that you didn’t get me anything.

I don’t like receiving gifts.

Cheers.

Aaron

Leave a Reply

