A while back I made a post about the magic system I’m developing for my tabletop role playing game, Mythe & Lejend. View it here!

Well… I recently found a flaw in my magic system. Depending on how you decide to look at it.

If you look at my magic system, while it isn’t easy to understand at first, it does turn out to be fairly simple in the end. The problem I found is it cuts out a major part of the magic system.

Enchantment spells.
By enchantment I don’t mean spells that make items better such as making that +1 Broadsword of Misogyny.
What I do mean is spells that compel or charm a creature into doing something, improving or worsening their attitude about something, or even just straight up mind control.
I also found that Divination spells are very hard to make.

It seemed that while I had a system that I understood and could build spells in willy nilly, I also had a system that could not do what was intended.
It was intended to recreate any spell that a user could imagine in some form, or at least all of the spells in traditional tabletop role playing games.

I’m making a change on the system in a few ways. While I haven’t fully worked out the bugs on it, I have decided to change the “Actions” portion of spellcasting into a choice between “Schools of Magic”.

I honestly don’t know why I didn’t think of it before. While this simplifies your understanding of where a spell falls, as long as you understand what each school does, it also makes the chart much larger.
For Example:
Schools of Magic
Abjuration
Protection (Magic shields, armor, or types of defensive spells.)
Negation (Anti-Magic spells.)
Warding (Glyphs, or spells that have a specific activation.)
Conjuration 
Calling (Transport items, or creatures from other planes to you for a time.)
Summoning (Transport items, or creatures from the physical plane to you.)
Transportation (Transport items, or creatures to a different place.)
Creation (Create items of magical or non-magical means.)
Divination
Past (View events that have happened)
Present (View events that are happening)
Future (View events that will happen)
Identification (Identify magic items, spells, and creatures)
Enchantment
Compulsion (Mind-Affecting)
Charm (Emotional)
Evocation
Offensive (Damaging)
Invocation (Non-Damaging)
Illusion
Figment (Small sensations of touch or sound)
Glamer (Changes how something appears to the target.)
Pattern (Insubstantial images that daze/confuse/blind/hurt the target.)
Phantasm (Creates hallucinations that can hurt the target)
Shadow (This creates physical images out of shadows that can affect the target.)
Necromancy
Recovery (Healing)
Inflicting (Curses and Wounding)
Animation (Allows you to do anything that deal with undead. Create/disrupt/etc. Does not allow resurrection.)
Transmutation
Alteration (This allows you to change something physically. Objects/Creatures/Elements of nature)
Enhancement (This is a non physical change. It just gives you a boost to a trait.)

Those are the schools and the appropriate subschools. Looking into D&D spells each one is labeled within its school and the description can send you into the subschool. Some spells do fall into the wrong category in my opinion.

The “Open/Close” spell is a transmutation spell. That is strange to me as I would put it into the Evocation – Invocation category.
“Mage Armor” is listed as a Conjuration-Creation spell in D&D. I definitely see it more along the lines of Abjuration-Protection.
“Obscuring Mist” is listed as Conjuration-Creation. This is up in the air, because I can understand that but I would probably put it as a Transmutation-Alteration or an Evocation-Invocation. This is where the lines start to get blurry.

There a ton of spells that could be argued into other schools, but really the thing that makes your spell fit into any school is how you came to make your spell work.
With “Obscuring Mist” as an example.
It definitely could be a Conjuration-Creation spell because you are creating a fog to put around you. Though it could be Transmutation-Alteration as you are altering the state that the moisture in the air is in by turning it into a fog. Also could be Evocation-Invocation as you are invoking the spirits of water to turn the moisture into fog. (Evocation is a weird school of magic)[Magic is just weird in general]

Either way you accomplish the spell, some with higher or lower costs, and the DM can choose what benefit each spell could add. Maybe the place your in is dry and therefore there is no moisture to draw upon. So you would have to create water or moisture to use it.

The big thing I wanted to do with this roleplaying system, especially the magic system, is create a sort of pseudo-science within magic. Allowing people to create and build spells like an actual wizard. Giving them this sense of cleverness or intelligence for having this creative freedom. Otherwise a person could pre-make spells, or look up spells and write them down to make their own sort of spell books full of spell combinations and what they do.

Wouldn’t that just be great? It makes me happy to think players coming to a game with their own sort of “Spellbook” full of spell combinations and point values.
That is one thing that drives me to keep making this.

Anyway, that’s all the update I have now. I’ll update more as I balance the system out by adding numbers, changing the way you create, and such.

Thanks for reading!
Aaron

Leave a Reply

